Postpartum Depression

Postpartum Depression

“When I had postpartum depression (PPD) with my first child, I blamed myself for feeling the way I didI felt it was my fault that I had it, that my weak character, my inability to be strong, had brought on my postpartum depression. When I began therapy for my PPD, my therapist helped me realize that I did not cause my PPD. I couldn’t have predicted it or prevented it. And I needed to forgive myself for having it”.

Every pregnant and new mother, regardless of her geographical location, race, marital status, sexual orientation or socioeconomic status should have the right to enjoy, as the World Health Organization states, the highest attainable standard of mental health. PPD is a part of it.

The average prevalence rate of non-psychotic postpartum depression based on the results of a large number of studies is 13%. Prevalence estimates are affected by the nature of the assessment method (larger estimates in studies using self-report measures) and by the length of the postpartum period under evaluation (longer periods predict high prevalence). The strongest predictors of postpartum depression were past history of psychopathology and psychological disturbance during pregnancy, poor marital relationship and low social support, and stressful life events. Finally, indicators of low social status showed a small but significant predictive relation to postpartum depression

There are many options for support: talk therapy, medication of many types, new mama groups, other support groups, friends, yoga … Bring Your Own Baby (BYOB) yoga, on yoga mat with your newborn is always an exciting experience taking you out from depression.

Its awareness of this issue which needs everybody’s attention.

~ Amir A., Humans of Depression Representative

#LetsTalkD #postpartumdepression #yoga

Remember to follow Humans of Depression on the following platforms:

http://twitter.com/HumansofD

https://www.facebook.com/HumansofDepression

http://instagram.com/humansofdepression/

Reference:

http://www.postpartumprogress.com

Rates and risk of postpartum depression—a meta-analysis 1996, Vol. 8, No. 1 , Pages 37-54

Michael W. O’hara, and Annette M. Swain: International Review of Psychiatry

http://bloomablog.com/walk-postpartum-depression-anxiety/

Leave a Reply

